Barbershop New Years’ Party… WoW!

My wife and I were invited to a “Barbershop” New Years party at the home of Gerry & Nick Papageorge in southern california.  It was great seeing lots of old friends and meeting some new ones as well. There were barbershop singers from the Masters of Harmony, Harborlites Chorus, Sounds of Harmony (Chino, CA, Gerry Papageorge director), and as luck would have it the only “organized” quartet was Orange Crush… (I’m prejudiced since that is my wifes’ quartet).

Good food and good friends were in abundance. Party favors were plentiful (see attached pic), and I can imagine the neighbors were holding their ears when the stroke of midnight hit.

Nick and Gerry’s son is in a rock band and they were there as well, so when the band played, the vocal singing of barbershop could not be heard. (The band had the mics, amps and speakers).

After the band stopped playing, the sounds of barbershop started and continued until at least 2 AM, when Elaine and I left.  A great way to bring in the New Year with lots of good friends and lots of good barbershop harmony.

“Stay tuned”

Jerry Braack

California USA

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Barbershop New Years’ Party… WoW!”

  1. Hilary Says:

    Hi Jerry .. I am so unmusical .. but I’m now intrigued .. that I’ll be following your blog & as I’ve just had to do .. look up more information on the net .. – & I’ll have a listen soon ..

    Sounds as though your New Year went off with lot of fun & joy & of cours wonderful music..

    Have a great year .. Hilary Melton-Butcher

  2. Giovanna Garcia Says:

    Wow Jerry!

    That sounds like a ROCKING party! What a great way to bring in the new year! Rubbing elbows with singers are such. Thanks for sharing 🙂 I wish I could see some pictures of your party.

    Giovanna Garcia

  3. a Sweet Adeline Says:

    Actually, I think Nicky’s band is more of a Reggae style rather than rock. I was there … and it was fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

